Forever Giants:1980 San Francisco Giants Year 23 (98)

Saturday, February 21, 2015

1979 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1980 73-89
C Milt May 1.45
1B Mike Ivie -.8
2B Rennie Stennett -1.15
SS Johnnie LeMaster -1.9
3B Darrell Evans 4.15
LF Terry Whitfield 1
CF Bill North 2.5 
RF Jack Clark 4.05  
OF Larry Herndon .05
IF Joe Pettini -.55
LF Jim Wohlford  .6
2B Joe Strain -.15 
1B Rich Murray -.85
C Mike Sadek .35 
OF Max Venable -.45 
1B Willie McCovey -.65 (61.05) Last Season
SP Vida Blue 4.95 
SP Bob Knepper .8
SP Ed Whitson 2.95
SP John Montefusco -.25 (16.8) Last season
SP Allen Ripley .35
RP Greg Minton 3.45 
RP Tom Griffin 2.25
RP Gary Lavelle 1.15
RP Al Holland 3.2

-McCovey retires at midseason; we get no hit, at the Stick, by the Dodgers, and it's Dave Bristol's last season after back to back 73 pythagorean win seasons.  Other than the blip in "my" season, 1978, the Giants have been below .500 in pythag record from '74 forward.  That's a lot of negative WAR for a middle infield. Montefusco and Halicki finish up. 

No comments

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It