Forever Giants: 1911 National League Champion New York Giants(Year 29)

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

1910 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1911 104-58 NL Pennant (lost to A’s 4-2)
C Chief Meyers 3.45 
1B Fred Merkle 3.6 
2B Larry Doyle 4.5 
SS Al Bridwell  1.55 (13.05) Last Season
3B Art Devlin 1.8 (34.4) Last Season
LF Josh Devore 1.75 
CF Fred Snodgrass 2.9 
RF Red Murray 1.15
SS Art Fletcher 3.7
3B Buck Herzog 1.15 
OF Beals Becker .25
C Art Wilson .9
SP Christy Mathewson 7.25 
SP Rube Marquard 5.05
SP Red Ames 2.8
SP Hooks Wiltse 1.75 
RP Doc Crandall 3.4

-Giants win first pennant in six years, but lose the Series to the A's 4 games to 2.  This was the year the Polo Grounds burned down and the Giants played much of the whole year in the Yankees stadium.  Mathewson beat Cy Young in their only ever matchup in September.  It's Devlin's last season; through 2016 he's still a top 25 all time Giant.  Bridwell also finishes up here.  

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It