Forever Giants: 1924 National League Champion New York Giants(Year 42)

Friday, December 19, 2014

1923 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1924 NL Champions 101-61 (lost in 7 games to Senators)
C Frank Snyder 1.55 
1B High Pockets Kelly 5.25
2B Frankie Frisch 6.95
SS Travis Jackson 3.5 
3B Heinie Groh 3.65
LF Irish Meusel 1.2 
CF Hack Wilson 1.9 
RF Ross Youngs 5.35
OF Billy Southworth -.9
C Hank Gowdy 1.7 
1B Bill Terry .15 
OF Jimmy O’Connell .3 
2B Freddie Lindstrom .05
SP Virgil Barnes 3.25 
SP Jack Bentley 1.75 
SP Hugh McQuillan 2.7 
SP Art Nehf 2.45 
SP Wayland Dean -1.4
RP Rosy Ryan -.4

-Backup outfielder Jimmy O'Connell gets banned for life for suspected collusion with the Phillies; the Giants win their fourth straight pennant, losing in 7 games when a bad bounce allowed the Senators to tie the score in the 8th, they'd win it in the 12th.  

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It