Forever Giants:1962 National League Champion San Francisco Giants Year 5 (80)

Saturday, January 31, 2015

1961 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1962 98-64
C Tom Haller 3.6 
1B Orlando Cepeda  4.3 
2B Chuck Hiller 2.7 
SS Jose Pagan 1.6 
3B Jimmy Davenport 4
LF Harvey Kuenn 2.15 
CF Willie Mays 9.9 MVPQ 
RF Felipe Alou 4.1 
C Ed Bailey 1.85 
LF Willie McCovey 2.2
OF Matty Alou .55 
SP Billy O Dell  2.7
SP Jack Sanford 3.45  
SP Juan Marichal 3.85 
SP Billy Pierce 2.65
RP Stu Miller -.1 (13.7) Final Season. 

-Just like 11 years before in New York, the Giants take a 3 game playoff against the Dodgers to win the pennant (and then lose the Series to the Yankees).  It's the tenth time in franchise history the Giants lose the Series, 4 of which coming to the Yanks.  Mays has his 7th MVPQ season (8+ WAR) tying Mathewson, it's his best year since '54.  The entire Giant starting 8 is at least 1 win above replacement for the first time since '53. McCormick leaves, but he'll be back.  It's Stu Miller's last season and Gaylord Perry's debut. 

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It