Forever Giants:1951 National League Champion New York Giants(Year 69)

Monday, January 19, 2015

1950 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1951 96-66 NL Champions
C Wes Westrum 3.65 
1B Whitey Lockman  1.2
2B Eddie Stanky 5.3
SS Alvin Dark 6.4
3B Hank Thompson  .55 
LF Monte Irvin 6
CF Willie Mays 3.6
RF Don Mueller 1.75 
Uti Bobby Thomson 4.9
C Ray Noble -.15
SP Sal Maglie 5.55
SP Larry Jansen  4.9 
SP Jim Hearn 1.8 
RP Dave Koslo 1.35 
RP Sheldon Jones -1.35 
RP George Spencer 1

-The Giants, you may have heard, won the pennant.  First pennant since '37, and like 14 years prior (and the same the year before that) they lost to the Yanks in 6 in the Series.  The Giants make up a 13 game mid August deficit, and then win a three game playoff against the Dodgers on Thomson's three run 9th inning homer.  Willie Mays begins his assault on the all time Giants WAR mark, still held by Mathewson at that time.  Stanky moves on after two terrific Giants seasons.  

January, 2015 Athlete of the Month

The 2014 winner is here.

We start all over again.

Marshawn Lynch.

Runners-up:  Kam Chancellor, Ezekiel Elliott, LeGarrette Blount

1 down.  11 left in the race for 2015 Athlete of the Year.

January - Marshawn Lynch

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It