Forever Giants: 2010 World Champion San Francisco Giants Year 53 (128)

Monday, March 30, 2015

2009 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

2010 94-68
C Buster Posey 4.45 
1B Aubrey Huff 7.4
2B Freddy Sanchez 2.45
SS Juan Uribe 2.05
3B Pablo Sandoval 1.55
LF Pat Burrell 2.85
CF Aaron Rowand .5 
RF Nate Schierholtz  .35 
CF Andres Torres 5.7
C Bengie Molina .15 
SS Edgar Renteria .7
1B Travis Ishikawa .4
C Eli Whiteside .65 
RF Jose Guillen -.3
IF Mark DeRosa -.5
SP Matt Cain 4.5 
SP Tim Lincecum 3.9
SP Barry Zito 1.45
SP Jonathan Sanchez 3.9
SP Madison Bumgarner 2.85
RP Brian Wilson 4.9
RP Sergio Romo 2.2 
RP Santiago Casilla 2.35

-You couldn't have seen this coming.  Wildly improbable seasons from Aubrey Huff and Andres Torres led the Giants to 94 pythag wins and a West title, they beat the Braves in the NLDS, beat the Phillies to win the pennant, and then the Rangers 4 games to 1 to win the first San Francisco World Series ever and the first for the organization since '54.

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It