Forever Giants:1979 San Francisco Giants Year 22 (97)

Friday, February 20, 2015

1978 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1979 73-89
C Dennis Littlejohn -.6
1B Willie McCovey -.15 
2B Joe Strain -.1
SS Johnnie LeMaster .5 
3B Darrell Evans  2.7
LF Terry Whitfield 1.65
CF Bill North 2.9
RF Jack Clark 2.95
1B Mike Ivie 2.8
OF Larry Herndon .3
SS Roger Metzger .65 
2B Bill Madlock .15 
C Marc Hill .15 
2B Rob Andrews 0
C Mike Sadek -.03 
SP Vida Blue -.8
SP Bob Knepper .65 
SP John Montefusco 1.55 
SP Ed Halicki -1
SP Ed Whitson 1.2
SP John Curtis .95
RP Gary Lavelle 3.85 
RP Greg Minton 2.1
RP Randy Moffitt -2.45

-Mays goes into the Hall of Fame, the Giants give back all their gains from '78 and fall back below a .500 pythgag, with a month left, Altobelli's replaced by Dave Bristol, who had already been fired by three other clubs. Thats 10 managers in 22 years in San Francisco.  10.  10!  Look at the infield, only Evans had even 1 WAR.

No comments

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It