Forever Giants: 1889 World Champion New York Giants(Year 7)

Saturday, November 8, 2014

1888 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1889 (102-60) – WS Winner* (d Bridegrooms 110-52)
C Buck Ewing 5.55 
1B Roger Connor 5.9 
2B Danny Richardson 3.4 
SS Monte Ward 2.05 
3B Art Whitney .35 
LF Jim O’Rourke 1.2 
CF George Gore 3.35 
RF Mike Tiernan 6.15 
C William Brown -.15
SS Gil Hatfield -.7 
P Mickey Welch 5
P Tim Keefe 3.2 
P Ed Crane 1.15

-The Giants beat Brooklyn 5-4 in the series played against the AA champs after the season; Brooklyn won 3 of the first 4 games (each Brooklyn win on a game called early for darkness) the fans stormed the Polo Grounds after winning 4-2 in Game 9. 

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It