Forever Giants: 2002 National League Champion San Francisco Giants Year 45 (120)

Thursday, March 19, 2015

2001 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

2002 – 98-64
C Benito Santiago 3
1B JT Snow -.05
2B Jeff Kent 7.95 (35.35) Last Season
SS Rich Aurilia .95 
3B David Bell 3.2
LF Barry Bonds 11.6  
CF Tsuyoshi Shinjo  1.6
RF Reggie Sanders 2.95
CF Kenny Lofton 1.45
1B Damon Minor .5
SS Ramon Martinez .7 
OF Tom Goodwin .7
C Yorvit Torrealba  1.15
3B Pedro Feliz -.2 
OF Shawon Dunston -1.6 
OF Marvin Benard .45 
SP Livan Hernandez 1.2 
SP Russ Ortiz 4.05 
SP Kirk Rueter 3.5 
SP Jason Schmidt 2.45 
SP Ryan Jensen 0
RP Robb Nen 4.1 (18.65) Last season
RP Tim Worrell 2

-The 120th year in Giants baseball: 98 pythagorean wins, just like '62 and '93; another MVPQ year for Bonds, his 8th (Mays had 11); he also passed 600 homers and broke the MLB record for on base percentage.  We won the Wild Card, beat the Braves and Cards in five games apiece, and then, with a 3-2 World Series lead and up 5-0 with 8 outs to go in Game 6, we lost.  San Francisco still yet to win a World Series.  This is it for both Dusty Baker and Jeff Kent and Robb Nen. Ortiz leaves but he'll be back.

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It