Forever Giants: 1908 New York Giants(Year 26)

Saturday, November 29, 2014

1907 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1908 106-56
C Roger Bresnahan 5.55 (26.3) Last Season
1B Fred Tenney 2.25
2B Larry Doyle 2.5 
SS Al Bridwell 4.3
3B Art Devlin 4.6
LF Spike Shannon -.55 
CF Cy Seymour 1.9 
RF Mike Donlin 6.1 
OF Moose McCormick -.1
2B Buck Herzog 2.25
C Tom Needham  .25
SP Christy Mathewson 11.9 MVPQ 
SP Hooks Wiltse 6.85 
SP Doc Crandall 1.15
SP Joe McGinnity .6 (28.4) Last Season
SP Dummy Taylor 0 (14.45) Last season
SP Red Ames 1.7

-McGraw's third 100+ win club, this is the year Fred Merkle doesn't run from first to second on what should have been a game winning hit, resulting in a tie with the Cubs, and the Giants lose the makeup on the last day of the season to lose the pennant. Mathewson has the best season in Giants history to that date and passes Connor to become the greatest Giant of all time.  This is also the end of the Giants careers of McGinnity and Bresnahan.

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It