Forever Giants: 2003 NL West Champion San Francisco Giants Year 46 (121)

Friday, March 20, 2015

2002 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

2003 93-69
C Benito Santiago 1.35 
1B JT Snow  2.1 
2B Ray Durham 3.9
SS Rich Aurilia 1.1 
3B Edgardo Alfonzo 1.05
LF Barry Bonds 9.6
CF Marquis Grissom 1.7
RF Jose Cruz 2.9
SS Neifi Perez 1.35
1B Andres Galarraga 1.1
C Yorvit Torrealba 1.45 
OF Jeffrey Hammonds .55
SP Jason Schmidt  6.4
SP Kirk Rueter  .6 
SP Jerome Williams 1.85
SP Damian Moss .4
SP Jesse Foppert -.9
RP Tim Worrell .55
RP Joe Nathan 2.35

-Back to back 90+ pythags for the first time since '86-7.  Another MVPQ for Bonds.  Felipe Alou took over as manager, the Giants won the West, but lost the NLDS to the Marlins, in the 11th inning of game 3 and then by a run in game 4. 

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It