Forever Giants:1993 San Francisco Giants Year 36 (111)

Monday, March 9, 2015

1992 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1993 98-64
C Kirt Manwaring 2.85
1B Will Clark 1.6 (39.75) Last Season
2B Robby Thompson 6.75
SS Royce Clayton 3.25 
3B Matt Williams 5.6
LF Barry Bonds 10.3 MVPQ
CF Darren Lewis 2.15 
RF Willie McGee 1.45 
RF Dave Martinez .35
1B Todd Benzinger .35
RF Mark Carreon .8
IF Mike Benjamin .65
C Jeff Reed .85
2B Steve Scarsone -.05
SP Bill Swift 5.6
SP John Burkett 2.45 
SP Trevor Wilson 1.55
RP Rod Beck 3.6
RP Jeff Brantley -.4
RP Kevin Rogers 1.1

-Peter Magowan leads a new ownership group that keeps the team in San Francisco, former Giant Dusty Baker becomes the team's new manager, the Giants draw over 2.5 million, their franchise record, the 98 pythag wins matches the record of the '62 pennant winners, Will Clark finishes up, the Giants are knocked out of the pennant race on the last day of the season by the Dodgers.

Oh, and Barry Bonds signs.  And hits the league for 10 WAR.

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It