Forever Giants: 1888 World Champion New York Giants(Year 6)

Friday, November 7, 2014

1887 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1888 (105-57) – WS Winner* (d. Browns 111-51)
C Buck Ewing 5.85 
1B Roger Connor 8.4 
2B Danny Richardson 1.9 
SS Monte Ward .9 
3B Art Whitney -.2
LF Jim O’Rourke 2.65 
CF Mike Slattery .25
RF Mike Tiernan 5.45 
OF George Gore -.45 
OF Elmer Foster -1.2
C Pat Murphy -.2
IF Gil Hatfield -.75
P Tim Keefe 7.3 
P Mickey Welch 6.35 
P Cannonball Titcomb .8

-It's the embryonic World Series, 10 games played against the AA Champion Browns after the season; we won 6 of first 8.  

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It