Forever Giants: 1917 National League Champion New York Giants(Year 35)

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

1916 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1917 105-57 NL Pennant (lost Series 4 games to 2 to White Sox)
C Bill Rairden 1.65 
1B Walter Holke .9
2B Buck Herzog 2.2
SS Art Fletcher 6.7 
3B Heine Zimmerman 5.15 
LF George Burns 5.9 
CF Benny Kauff 3.15 
RF Dave Robertson 1.4
C Lew McCarty .4
2B Jimmy Smith .65
SP Ferdie Schupp 4.65 
SP Slim Sallee 1.6
SP Rube Benton .4
SP Pol Peritt 2.45 
SP Jeff Tesreau .2 
RP Fred Anderson 2.6

-McGraw wins his 6th pennant but the Giants again lose (and perhaps, according to rumors at the time, on purpose) the Series.  That capped a tumultuous year where McGraw did a two week suspension for punching an umpire.  

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It