Forever Giants: 1921 World Champion New York Giants(Year 39)

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

1920 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1921 100-62 World Champs (d Yanks 5-3)
C Frank Snyder  3.05 
1B High Pockets Kelly 3.7
2B Johnny Rawlings .35
SS Dave Bancroft 6.95
3B Frankie Frisch 6.85 
LF George Burns 1.35 (33.25) Last Season
CF Irish Meusel .3
RF Ross Youngs 2.85 
C Earl Smith 2.7 
OF Curt Walker .5
3B Goldie Rapp -.35
OF Eddie Brown -.25
OF Lee King -.75
SP Art Nehf 2.2 
SP Jesse Barnes 2.4
SP Fred Toney 1.9 
SP Phil Douglas -.3 
RP Rosy Ryan .5

-With aid of a backup outfielder named Casey Stengel, the Giants win their first World Series in 16 years knocking off the Yankees in 8 games.  George Burns finishes up, through 2016 he was still a top 30 all Time Giant.  

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It