Forever Giants:1987 NL West Champion San Francisco Giants Year 30 (105)

Monday, March 2, 2015

1986 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1987 93-69 NL West Champions (lost to Cards in NLCS in 7 games)
C Bob Brenly 3.9
1B Will Clark 4.6
2B Robby Thompson 1.55
SS Jose Uribe 3.2 
3B Kevin Mitchell 2.75
LF Jeffrey Leonard .9
CF Chili Davis 1.55 (17.05) Last season
RF Candy Maldonado 2.5 
1B Mike Aldrete 3.7
SS Chris Speier 1.9
SS Matt Williams .4
C Bob Melvin 1.05 
CF Eddie Milner .75
3B Chris Brown -.2
1B Harry Spillman -.1
SP Kelly Downs 2.05
SP Mike LaCoss 1.9 
SP Atlee Hammaker  2.25 
SP Mike Krukow  -.25 
SP Dave Dravecky 2.2
RP Scott Garrelts 2.3
RP Jeff Robinson 2.5

-93 pythagorean wins, there hadn't been a better Giants club since '62.  The Giants had a 3-2 NLCS lead but couldn't close out the Cardinals to win their first pennant since that season.  We made the Mitchell deal, Matt Williams came up - they joined Clark and Thompson from the year before and we see the core of this next phase of Giants clubs.  Speier returns after a decade; Minton and Chili are done.  Something interesting is that there were no drags on the entire roster; not a single Giant was worse than -.2 WAR. 

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It