Forever Giants: 2009 San Francisco Giants Year 52 (127)

Friday, March 27, 2015

2008 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season. The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

2009 86-76
C Bengie Molina .7
1B Travis Ishikawa 1.15 
2B Emmanuel Burriss -.7
SS Edgar Renteria -.6
3B Pablo Sandoval 5.25
LF Fred Lewis 1.25 
CF Aaron Rowand .95 
RF Randy Winn 1.5 (14.1) Last season
SS Juan Uribe 3.5
RF Nate Schierholtz .7
Uti Eugenio Velez 0.5 
CF Andres Torres 1.8
C Eli Whiteside .1
1B Rich Aurilia -.9 (17) Last season
1B Ryan Garko -.4
2B Freddy Sanchez .15
SP Tim Lincecum 7.45
SP Matt Cain 6.4
SP Barry Zito 2.55 
SP Jonathan Sanchez 1.45 
SP Randy Johnson -.15
RP Brian Wilson 2.4
RP Jeremy Affeldt 2.35

-Bumgarner. Posey. Affeldt all show up on this squad.  Sanchez throws the Giants first no hitter in over three decades, Randy Johnson's a Giant and wins his 300th game.  It's the best club in five years. Winn's last season; also ends Aurilia's second stint.

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It