Forever Giants:1983 San Francisco Giants Year 26 (101)

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

1982 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1983 – 80-82
C Bob Brenly 1.8 
1B Darrell Evans 5 (21.65) Last Season
2B Brad Wellman -.8  
SS Johnnie LeMaster  .65 
3B Tom O’Malley .6
LF Jeffrey Leonard 2.55 
CF Chili Davis 1.3
RF Jack Clark 3.9
2B Joel Youngblood 2.05
OF Max Venable .8
2B Duane Kuiper -.7
CF Dan Gladden .15
C Milt May 1.1 
1B Dave Bergman 1.5 
C John Rabb -.25
SP Fred Breining 1.9 
SP Mike Krukow 1.45
SP Atlee Hammaker 4.6
SP Bill Laskey .9
SP Mark Davis 1.3
RP Greg Minton 1.4 
RP Andy McGaffigan .5

-The second century of Giants baseball brings us another year with a pythag under .500.  We're near the bottom of the league in attendance (every year) and Marichal's elected to the Hall of Fame.  Barr and Evans are done.

No comments

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It