Forever Giants:1936 National League Champion New York Giants(Year 54)

Thursday, January 1, 2015

1935 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1936 NL Champs  93-69 (lost Series to Yanks, 4-2)
C Gil Mancuso 3.75
1B Sam Leslie .35
2B Burgess Whitehead  3.1
SS Dick Bartell  6.5 
3B Travis Jackson -2.05 (43.45) Last Season
LF Jo Jo Moore 3.4
CF Hank Leiber .95
RF Mel Ott 6.95 
OF Jimmy Ripple 1.45
1B Bill Terry .9 (49.2) Last Season
3B Eddie Mayo -.6
SP Carl Hubbell 9.7 MVPQ 
SP Hal Schumacher 2.15 
SP Al Smith .5
SP Freddie Fitzsimmons 2.
SP Harry Gumbert .7
SP Slick Castleman -1.35
RP Dick Coffman .5
RP Frank Gabler  3.05 

-Mathewson is in the first Hall of Fame class, Horace Stoneham becomes the principal owner of the club, the Giants win the pennant and lose the Series to the Yankees. Travis Jackson and (as a player) Bill Terry retire as Purebloods.

No comments

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It