Forever Giants:1975 San Francisco Giants Year 18 (93)

Sunday, February 15, 2015

1974 is here.

My WAR calculation is a combination of Baseball-reference and Clay Davenport; I believe it to be the "best" WAR number available for historical comparison. 8 WAR is an MVP quality season.  The record is pythagorean adjusted for 162 games.

1975 79-83
C Dave Rader  .9
1B Willie Montanez .45
2B Derrel Thomas  1.9
SS Chris Speier  4.6 
3B Steve Ontiveros 1.8 
LF Gary Mathews 3.2
CF Von Joshua  2.55
RF Bobby Murcer 1.3
OF Gary Thomasson .5 
IF Bruce Miller -.85 
C Marc Hill .6
3B Ed Goodson  -.8
C Mike Sadek -.05
LF Glen Adams .45
SP Jim Barr 5.2
SP John Montefusco 5.7
SP John D’Acquisto -2.15 
SP Pete Falcone .7
SP Mike Caldwell -.75 
SP Ed Halicki 1.95
RP Gary Lavelle 2 

-Count Montefusco is the Rookie of the Year, Ed Halicki no hits the Mets, The Giants have back to back sub .500 pythags and Westrum is replaced by Bill Rigney at season's end, doing two non consecutive stints as Giant manager like he's Grover Cleveland.  Again, the Giants finish last in attendance. Again, no future Hall of Famers on this club.

No comments

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It