The 200 Greatest Major League Baseball Players of All Time, 2012 Ed. 11-20

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

The previous ten is here.

11.Tris Speaker 1907-28 CF Indians/Red Sox
     MVPQ=1913, 1916, 1923
     Elite: 1912, 1914

12.Ted Williams LF Red Sox 1939-60
     MVPQ=1948, 1949, 1957
     Elite: 1947
     Inner circle: 1941, 1942, 1946
     PA: 9800

13.Rickey Henderson LF 1979-03 A's/Yankees
    Elite: 1985,
    Inner circle: 1990
    PA: 13,350

14.Rogers Hornsby 2B 1915-37 Cards/Browns
     MVPQ=1917, 1928
     Elite=1920, 1922, 1925, 1927
     Inner circle: 1921, 1924, 1929

15.Eddie Collins 2B White Sox 1906-30
     MVPQ=1912, 1914, 1920
     Elite=1909, 1910, 1915
     Inner circle=1913

16.Greg Maddux RHP 1986-08 Braves/Cubs
     Elite=1994, 1995
17. Mike Schmidt 3B Phillies 1972-89
     Elite=1974, 1977, 1980, 1981
18. Lou Gehrig 1B Yankees 1923-39
     MVPQ=1930, 1931
     Elite=1928, 1934, 1935, 1936
     Inner Circle=1927

19.Tom Seaver RHP 1967-86 Mets/Reds
     Inner circle=1971

20.Pete Alexander 1911-30 RHP Cubs/Phillies
     Inner circle=1915, 1916, 1920
We start with Gehrig v. Pujols.  Gehrig had a better bat (higher OPS+ driven by a higher adjusted slugging); Gehrig's career value is 16 wins greater, and that's significant - but not as significant as the couple of thousand plate appearances he's had beyond Pujols.  Per game, Pujols has more value driven by his superior glove.  Pujols has 8 MVPQ seasons, Gehrig 7; Pujols never had a year as good as Gehrig's best season.  Pujols is 4 healthy years from reaching Gehrig's number of plate appearances; at that point, probably, he's past Gehrig's career value, but at that point, his per game value might be a little less, if he has, in fact, entered his decline phase.  If he hasn't - if he has another couple of MVPQ years left, he goes by Gehrig without question.

It is really close.  You keep Gehrig as your starting first baseman, but Pujols is second.

The best player in MLB history with only ten players left is Hornsby.  He had Gehrig's bat but played second base.  His 9 MVPQ seasons is the current record; he and Ted Williams and Pete Alexander all hit this section with 3 Inner Circle seasons, the current record.  Collins doesn't quite beat out Lajoie, so he and Morgan are the new B team. We're out of second basemen, so that's the final list.  Schmidt's our last third baseman, and there just isn't a good argument for anyone else as the best third baseman of all time.

If Hornsby isn't the best baseball player on the list, it's Williams, the best bat we've seen so far.  He and Rickey go into left field, we slide Robinson over to right with Ott.  Speaker challenges the Yankees.  Williams holds him off - Speaker's got a 20 win advantage but in 3000 more plate appearances.  It's close, Mantle's bat holds him off.  Speaker goes by Joe D solidly however, 40 more wins and the same bat.  3 arms in the sections - they're close, but it's Alexander/Maddux/Seaver.  Alexander's the new best pitcher of all time; Pedro was better per game, but the aggregate value and Alexander's 3 inner circle seasons make him the best.  Maddux is going to move into second, the total value really starts to weigh against Pedro in this section. Seaver moves in behind Nichols on the B team.

With only the ten most valuable players in baseball history left, here are the two all time baseball rosters.

 Team One
 C Bench 
1B Gehrig 
2B Hornsby 

SS Rodriguez 
  3B Schmidt
LF  Williams
CF   Mantle
RF  Ott
    Grove (L)
Team 2

C Dickey


1B  Brouthers

  2B  Collins
SS Ripken
3B  Boggs
LF  Delahanty
CF  DiMaggio
RF Ramirez
P Nichols
   Hubbell (L)
   Newhouser (L) 

Uti Caruthers

No comments

Blogger Template created by Just Blog It